Magic Finger



The Magic Finger by ROALD DAHL.

Happy to put in my first post on Books. Wasting time by watching movies have turned into a passion. But too much of it bored me. So a chance to change. Form the oceans of my ebook bank I browsed and found this small piece ! Small is beautiful, so it is. Long before Naga Chokkan tweeted about this book and as usual I searched the web n got the ebook. Special thanks to him.

Read it here

View it in full screen to read it easily. U can also download it, if u have a scribd account.

First of all, read the book, it is only under 30 pages and it is illustrated. This is the aim of the post. What follows is a collection of my thoughts about it. (Avoid it!)

!

It is a short story, but with a strong impact. Superpowers are always Surprises. The middle finger reminds me of the Midas Golden Touch. Back on Track : We love to fly and sometimes we do it in our dreams. But is it a easy job ? That too with all the family flying, What happens ? Interesting answers are elegantly shown in the book. The cycle at the end, shows the mastery of the author. Flow of language is so fast, u forget everything and read up, in jet speed. The beauty of the story lies, in the authors ability to portray, such a lovable girl, whose name we will never know even after the end of the whole story. She is just a GIRL (as she says). I think the DALH implies that there are lots of such emotions in loads of these children, present in each n every place of the world.

Quentin Blake the illustrative artist of the book, makes our reading experience, three dimensional : reading, thinking + visualizing. Simple sketches with pencils fit in perfectly. Children can just repeat the story, with these images, after hearing once. Try this for sure, Children are most creative in telling stories, to pictures. #Experience. I always against drawings for readings as it kills our imagination power, but this being a children book, so no harm.

Children have lots of wishes and questions. They want to stop things that annoy them,which are many times harmful to the society too. The heart of the child is shaped with everything and anything happening around. This is what happens to the girl too. Stories create an immense impact in their behavior. Let us read and make them read too. Reading is an addictive art, which is a divine boon, which is gifted and which can be gifted.

(The irony of the post is, I took a long time to write this post than to read the book.)

2 thoughts on “Magic Finger

  1. தமிழ் says:

    I Don’t know how to start this comment.
    But I want to make a comment on it.
    I have already read a little about this post. I Know something about this post, from you. I promised you ,that I will read this story, in this week. Then I will again comment in this post.

    I know you that you will understand, what I have write above.
    I’m a beginner in English. Pls forgive me for my imperfect writings.

Leave a Reply

